Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
 

Dive Review of Aggressor Fleet in
Galapagos Islands

Aggressor Fleet, Jun, 2013,

by Ellen Marie Smith, MN, US (Sr. Reviewer Sr. Reviewer 7 reports with 1 Helpful vote). Report 7059 has 1 Helpful vote.

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience 251-500 dives
Where else diving Cozumel, Cayman Aggressor, Utila Aggressor, Bonaire, Hawaii, Catalina Islands, Turneffe Islands
Closest Airport Getting There

Dive Conditions

Weather sunny, dry Seas calm, currents
Water Temp 60 to 74 Fahrenheit Wetsuit Thickness 7
Water Visibility 30 to 80 Feet

Dive Policy

Dive own profile yes
Enforced diving restrictions Divemasters asked divers to stay with buddy at all times, remain in group (surfacing with buddy at different times ok). Bottom time of 55 min. We had some advanced and experienced divers in the group and the guidelines were not strictly enforced for them. One diver was asked to sit out 2 dives at Darwin Island due to "popping up" from below 30 feet. I thought this was a wise move.
Liveaboard? yes Nitrox Available? yes

What I Saw

Sharks Lots Mantas None
Dolphins Schools Whale Sharks 1 or 2
Turtles > 2 Whales None
Corals 2 stars Tropical Fish For Subscribers Only
Small Critters For Subscribers Only Large Fish For Subscribers Only
Large Pelagics For Subscribers Only

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter For Subscribers Only Boat Facilities 5 stars
Overall rating for UWP's For Subscribers Only Shore Facilities For Subscribers Only
UW Photo Comments Almost every diver had a camera (all of them much bigger than mine!). This made the camera area quite crowded, but not uncomfortable. The rinse tanks are large and well laid o ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations For Subscribers Only Food 4 stars
Service and Attitude For Subscribers Only Environmental Sensitivity For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation For Subscribers Only Shore Diving For Subscribers Only
Snorkeling N/A
Value for $$ For Subscribers Only
Beginners 1 stars
Advanced For Subscribers Only
Comments The only complaint about the trip is that the flights to Baltra are hard to connect to, making an overnight stay in either Quito (not recommended by Aggressor) or Guayaquil necessary. On our return we arrived back in Guayaquil at 10:30 am and waited to board the redeye to Miami at 11:30pm. This made for a tiring day.
Now on ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful to you?
Report currently has 1 Helpful vote
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By Richard J. Troberman in WA, US at Jul 21, 2013 11:31 EST  
It was the Aggressor I that went on the rocks on June 13.
By Ellen Marie Smith in MN, US at Jul 21, 2013 12:01 EST  
Sorry-- I put the wrong one above. Yes, Aggressor 1 went on the rocks--- we were on 2.
By Ellen Marie Smith in MN, US at Jul 21, 2013 12:01 EST  
Sorry-- I put the wrong one above. Yes, Aggressor 1 went on the rocks--- we were on 2.
By Kate Bolinger in OR, US at Jul 23, 2013 08:38 EST  
If you ever find yourself on dry land in Puerto Ayora, (the main town 30 mins from Baltra) there are a number of really great nearby dives like the one offered at the local dive shops as "day trips" that are really quite amazing and fun. And reasonable. You don't have to do a liveaboard to enjoy the diving in the Galapagos. Just go to Puerto Ayora and get diving! Their is so much to see underwater at so many sites don't be put off by the high price of the liveaboards which often exceed $5000 a trip when you can do day dives at many sites within an hour or two of the main island for $130. And stay in town for under $50 a night. The local fish dinner held every night at the fishing docks, and the barbeque street are so much fun. San Cristobal and "Kicker Rock" are another fun option. Stay at Casa Maybelle for under $40 a night. Just go have fun! All the dives shops offer day deals, but I would bring my own regulator if I went back.
By Kate Bolinger in OR, US at Jul 23, 2013 08:38 EST  
If you ever find yourself on dry land in Puerto Ayora, (the main town 30 mins from Baltra) there are a number of really great nearby dives like the one offered at the local dive shops as "day trips" that are really quite amazing and fun. And reasonable. You don't have to do a liveaboard to enjoy the diving in the Galapagos. Just go to Puerto Ayora and get diving! Their is so much to see underwater at so many sites don't be put off by the high price of the liveaboards which often exceed $5000 a trip when you can do day dives at many sites within an hour or two of the main island for $130. And stay in town for under $50 a night. The local fish dinner held every night at the fishing docks, and the barbeque street are so much fun. San Cristobal and "Kicker Rock" are another fun option. Stay at Casa Maybelle for under $40 a night. Just go have fun! All the dives shops offer day deals, but I would bring my own regulator if I went back.
By Ellen Marie Smith in MN, US at Jul 23, 2013 09:14 EST  
I respectfully disagree with the above....the diving at Wolf and Darwin are in a different class than the "land" based diving in the Galapagos. The price is high either way (considering all the money it takes to get there) and I would never go all that way and NOT go to Darwin.
By Randall S Preissig in TX, US at Aug 13, 2013 20:05 EST  
ABSOLUTELY right about Wolfe and especially Darwin! Darwin is easily one of the top 5 dive sites in the world--on everyone's list.
By Kate Bolinger in OR, US at Aug 14, 2013 17:32 EST  
Darwin truly is lovely to dive - I just think there are other choices for folk who can't afford six to eight thousand for a liveaboard to visit way north. The rest of the islands have a lot to offer on shore and below. Don't miss the fisherman coming in with their catch in Puerto Ayora, and the delicious community fish fry that happens there every day about 4pm! We can't wait to go back and visit more islands.
By Randall S Preissig in TX, US at Aug 14, 2013 22:16 EST  
Kate(above), Thank you for the suggestions, but I think anyone enduring the 24+ hour trip each way and the $1500++ in airfare is going to want to see what Galapagos is world famous for--and that's Wolfe and Darwin. Of course there's good diving in the south islands--marine iguanas, Mola mola, sea lions, etc--but Wolfe and Darwin are unique and truly on a different level. If I return for my 4th liveaboard trip, I might take up some of your land suggestions as well. Again, thanks.
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 117 dive reviews of Galapagos Islands and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share
Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Reef & Rainforest, Let our experience be your guide -- Reef and Rainforest
Reef & Rainforest Dive & Adventure Travel
specializes in everything Galapagos. Let us plan your trip so see schooling hammerheads in the birthplace of evolution.

Want to assemble your own collection of Galapagos Islands reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!



Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |


Copyright © 1996-2017 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page displayed in 0.09 seconds