Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
 

Dive Review of Thailand Aggressor in
Thailand

Thailand Aggressor, Mar, 2013,

by shaya zucker, TX, US ( 2 reports). Report 6948.

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience 251-500 dives
Where else diving Cozumel, Fiji, Palu, Bonaire, LIttle Cayman, Roatan, Utila, Belize
Closest Airport Getting There

Dive Conditions

Weather sunny Seas calm, currents
Water Temp 80 to 82 Fahrenheit Wetsuit Thickness
Water Visibility 50 to 70 Feet

Dive Policy

Dive own profile yes
Enforced diving restrictions [Unspecified]
Liveaboard? yes Nitrox Available? yes

What I Saw

Sharks None Mantas None
Dolphins 1 or 2 Whale Sharks None
Turtles 1 or 2 Whales None
Corals 1 stars Tropical Fish For Subscribers Only
Small Critters For Subscribers Only Large Fish For Subscribers Only
Large Pelagics For Subscribers Only

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter For Subscribers Only Boat Facilities 2 stars
Overall rating for UWP's For Subscribers Only Shore Facilities For Subscribers Only
UW Photo Comments They had a table that was for cameras but also other things not camera related o ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations For Subscribers Only Food 4 stars
Service and Attitude For Subscribers Only Environmental Sensitivity For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation For Subscribers Only Shore Diving For Subscribers Only
Snorkeling N/A
Value for $$ For Subscribers Only
Beginners 2 stars
Advanced For Subscribers Only
Comments My friend Gale French and I just returned from the seven day voyage on the new Thailand Aggressor in the North Andaman Sea. The diving was advertised as some of the best diving in the world. The first three-four days was diving around the Similan Islands. The guests who were diving called the dives boulder diving. The yo,yo diving Dive Masters searched to show the divers something. There were no schools of fish, and very little sea life, just huge underwater rocks and boulders. The famous dive site Richelieu Rock had some sea life, mainly sea anemones on the rocks. When the Thailand Aggressor arrived at the famous site there were nine live aboards anchored, and a traffic jam of divers underwater. During the ent ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful to you?
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By Elizabeth Russell in PA, US at Apr 24, 2013 11:14 EST  
Just got back from the South Andaman Sea itinerary. You hit the nail on the head about the condition of the boat. We booked cabin 1 and ended up in cabin 9 due to lack of air conditioning in cabin 1. The sewer backed up several inches into our shower room. We had a sporadic water supply for two days. I'm just glad we didn't do your itinerary. At least we only had one other liveaboard at the mooring sites.
By robert kopki in FL, US at Jun 25, 2013 22:14 EST  
Shaya Thanks for your thorough report on the Thai Aggressor. I was considering this boat for next year, now will not. FYI, if a diver is diving on an air computer but actually breathing Nitrox, that will not cause DCS. In fact that is a very conservative way to dive. I do it all the time. Your friend must have had another problem. Bob
By George M Constantino in AK, US at Aug 02, 2013 10:38 EST  
THANK YOU for an honest review - this is why we are avid fans of Under Current.
By Elizabeth Russell in PA, US at Aug 02, 2013 10:48 EST  
Just an update on my previous report. After several months of runaround from Aggressor, I finally spoke with Wayne Hasson, who had numerous reasons for us to be satisfied with our awful experience. He also stated that they couldn't offer us compensation for the bad trip because they had already paid the franchise owner for our trip. I pointed out that I also had paid Aggressor a year in advance for our trip. Finally, we received a $500 each off an Aggressor trip in the next 12 months. I guess that's a $400 refund each for the cabin change and $100 to make us happy about it.
By Elizabeth Russell in PA, US at Aug 02, 2013 10:48 EST  
Just an update on my previous report. After several months of runaround from Aggressor, I finally spoke with Wayne Hasson, who had numerous reasons for us to be satisfied with our awful experience. He also stated that they couldn't offer us compensation for the bad trip because they had already paid the franchise owner for our trip. I pointed out that I also had paid Aggressor a year in advance for our trip. Finally, we received a $500 each off an Aggressor trip in the next 12 months. I guess that's a $400 refund each for the cabin change and $100 to make us happy about it.
By carl berenson in WA, US at Sep 08, 2013 22:30 EST  
Sounds like it best to avoid the aggressor and the dive area. It was on my list as well until I read the complaints. Thanks for sharing. Dancer/aggressor boats are money mills for the owners. Recently retunrned from Komodo dancer trip with no hot water in cabin/ shower, dripping a/c on my bed, red bugs in my bed, and cockroaches in the cabin..diving was great but I think word should go out to avoid this combo dancer/aggressor in these regions until they stop fleecing the unsuspecting clients.
By carl berenson in WA, US at Sep 08, 2013 22:30 EST  
Sounds like it best to avoid the aggressor and the dive area. It was on my list as well until I read the complaints. Thanks for sharing. Dancer/aggressor boats are money mills for the owners. Recently retunrned from Komodo dancer trip with no hot water in cabin/ shower, dripping a/c on my bed, red bugs in my bed, and cockroaches in the cabin..diving was great but I think word should go out to avoid this combo dancer/aggressor in these regions until they stop fleecing the unsuspecting clients.
By Elaine Turner in VA, US at Oct 23, 2013 13:39 EST  
I hear that the Thailand Aggressor was renovated in August, 2013. It appears they re-did the bathrooms and shelving. Has anyone gone on this boat since then??
By George A Lindley in FL, US at Dec 26, 2013 23:21 EST  
We're going March 23-29, 2014. Talked to a girl that just got back from Puket and said diving was terrible.The reefs have been destroyed by anchors and over fished. She was land based. We will be diving the North Shore maybe if we get away from everything it will be better.
By Douglas Cream in NY, US at Jan 18, 2014 17:23 EST  
I dove the Aggressor Thailand both North and South during the first 2 weeks of November. The boat was fine. Everything worked the way it was supposed to. The diving sucked. The north Andaman sea is barren. Not a single shark or manta ray was seen. The South was just slightly better but not worth the long travel time or the cost of the charter. Aggressor/Dancer should be ashamed of themselves for promoting the trip. Don't waste your time or money.
By carl berenson in WA, US at Jan 19, 2014 23:50 EST  
Thanks for the recent update on the horrid conditions of the reefs in Andaman sea. I will skip Thailand diving. I already figured out to skip the Dancer and Aggressor boats. They are resting on past good service. Owned by Asians who care about money, nothing else. Avoid completely.
By carl berenson in WA, US at Jan 19, 2014 23:50 EST  
Thanks for the recent update on the horrid conditions of the reefs in Andaman sea. I will skip Thailand diving. I already figured out to skip the Dancer and Aggressor boats. They are resting on past good service. Owned by Asians who care about money, nothing else. Avoid completely.
By Douglas Cream in NY, US at Jan 20, 2014 00:04 EST  
Hi Carl. I thought that the boat was fine and the service was pretty good. This was my third or fourth Aggressor charter and I have been on other boats too, the Odyssey, Fabrina, and Bilikiki most recently. Was on the Spoilsport too and managed to live through it! On board the Aggressor, the crew was great, very eager to please, and the food was OK. The dive deck and skiff operation worked well although the Nitox mix was inconsistent (30-37% from fill to fill). If the diving didn't suck rotten eggs, the trip would have been great. I forget to mention that we did see 2 whale sharks at one spot on the north trip, but otherwise it did not come anywhere near the B.S. hype.
By George A Lindley in FL, US at Mar 10, 2014 23:36 EST  
Will be boarding on March 22. We will report back on our trip. Doesn't sound to promising. Have dove on the Truk, Fiji, Belize and Turks & Caicos Aggressors and all were great.I hope the Aggressor Fleet Limited will stand behind their good customers and provide the same great diving on every ship. Diving is why we go on there trips the rest of the services are a plus. There are 17 from Florida going I hope they don't disappoint us that could be costly for them.
By philip nicozisis in FL, US at Apr 15, 2014 22:31 EST  
Would love to hear the latest on this live aboard !
By Melissa Schlenker in TX, US at Jun 01, 2014 21:15 EST  
Thank you all for your reports. My husband and I were considering Thailand but after reading everyones reports have decided not to. As far as the Aggressor goes, we dove on the Palau Aggresspr in 2008 and it was by far our best trip. It is disappointing to hear that the company has possibly gone downhill.
By Melissa Schlenker in TX, US at Jun 01, 2014 21:15 EST  
Thank you all for your reports. My husband and I were considering Thailand but after reading everyones reports have decided not to. As far as the Aggressor goes, we dove on the Palau Aggresspr in 2008 and it was by far our best trip. It is disappointing to hear that the company has possibly gone downhill.
By Douglas Cream in NY, US at Jun 01, 2014 23:04 EST  
The problem is with the Co. having the gall to market the North and South Andaman sea as diving destinations, knowing perfectly well that they are not. Not even close! I would be interested to know if anyone received any adjustment from Wayne & Co. All I got was "thanks for your input." Well, input or not they are still peddling the site as "The jewel of the Andaman Sea" Hogwash!
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 80 dive reviews of Thailand and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share

Want to assemble your own collection of Thailand reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!



Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |


Copyright © 1996-2017 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page displayed in 0.08 seconds