Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
X
 

Dive Review of Atlantis Dive Resorts in
Philippines/Puerto Galera

Atlantis Dive Resorts: "What was is no more", Sep, 2015,

by Rose Mueller , TX, US (Sr. Contributor Sr. Contributor 23 reports with 12 Helpful votes). Report 8374 has 1 Helpful vote.

No photos available at this time

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations 2 stars Food 4 stars
Service and Attitude 1 stars Environmental Sensitivity 5 stars
Dive Operation 3 stars Shore Diving 1 stars
Snorkeling 1 stars
Value for $$ 3 stars
Beginners 5 stars
Advanced 1 stars
Comments This was our 4th visit to an Atlantis Resort; the 3rd to Puerto Galera. The manager, Steve, began his job 8 months ago and said that he's NEVER had a complaint. We had the dubious honor of being his first! It began on a sour note with a "check out" dive on the sand when we were ready to complete 1400 dives while there. We complained to the dive master and he made sure we were blackballed by the other guides. The groups weren't separated by expertise. The dives were 50 minutes with little exception. With few guests and guides standing around why were 6 photographers together in one group. Why with all of the rules, weren't there ones imposed for taking 5 minutes on a photo? This operation is now set up for small cattle car operation. It is heaven for an inexperienced diver. We were with divers whose air consumption was 30-35 minutes. We were with a diver that got lost and hooked himself to the bottom expecting us to return to him in an impossible current with 5' visibility. We were chastised for going back in to retrieve a $1,000.00 dive light for one of the divers. The fish are becoming fewer. Many of the fish I saw are diseased. The turnover exemplifies the problems. The morale is low. I also find it appalling that older men are allowed to bring young girls for an "overnight" at the resort.
Websites Atlantis Dive Resorts   

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience Over 1000 dives
Where else diving Most places it's warm
Closest Airport Manila Getting There Houston, Chicago, Hong Kong, Manila

Dive Conditions

Weather dry Seas choppy, currents, no currents
Water Temp 80-82°F / 27-28°C Wetsuit Thickness 5
Water Visibility 5-35 Ft/ 2-11 M

Dive Policy

Dive own profile no
Enforced diving restrictions Depths, times and placements enforced for some, usually the least experienced.
Liveaboard? no Nitrox Available? yes

What I Saw

Sharks None Mantas None
Dolphins Schools Whale Sharks None
Turtles 1 or 2 Whales None
Corals 2 stars Tropical Fish 2 stars
Small Critters 3 stars Large Fish 1 stars
Large Pelagics 1 stars

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter 3 stars Boat Facilities 2 stars
Overall rating for UWP's 3 stars Shore Facilities 5 stars
UW Photo Comments The resort has a very nice room for camera storage and care. There is even a compressor.
Was this report helpful to you?
Report currently has 1 Helpful vote

Subscriber's Comments

By Maria Chapmanin TX, US at Sep 29, 2015 12:55 EST  
So sorry your experience was so bad, especially after the good service you had at the same place before. Us divers must start setting our bars much higher and in accordance with the $$$ spent and the long times it takes to get to Philippines/Indonesia/South Pacific etc. The more we keep going to receive bad service, the more motivated resorts and liveabords will be to try hard to earn our business.
By Melando Agudoin CT, US at Oct 09, 2015 01:17 EST  
Dear Rose, It seemed like you had a bad experience on your 4th trip to the Philippines. We are very concerned to hear that the fish are looking diseased, if you could give us some information on that we can look into it. You are correct about the kidnapping but this happened in Mindanao and I think most governments have warnings about visiting this area. I would also like to clarify for you that there is no Mosque being built across from Puerto Galera. Its is going to be a statue of the 'Mother of Mary' You can find more on the subject here www.montemaria.com.ph/products/motherofallasia Lets hope that you will give the Philippines another chance on another day. I'm sure that everything cannot go wrong for you again and you would enjoy it like your first 3 trips.
By David Haasin OH, US at Oct 10, 2015 11:13 EST  
While I can't know all factors on the loser's experience it isn't like mine going there for multiple trips. Myself and dive buddies always get 60 minutes in slow groups and great resort service. FYI _ the Mosque comment is ridiculous as 85%+ of the country is Catholic and safer that American cities. As to the jumping back in I suspect there might have ben currents etc as the guides routinely have a few thousand dives in their backyard and would likely have retrieved their light faster and safer.
By David Haasin OH, US at Oct 10, 2015 11:19 EST  
While I can't know all that went on my experience at both Atlantis locations was quite the opposite. 60 minute dives slowly led, plenty of marine life and food and hotel service that is great. As far as the Mosque and kidnapping comments that's ridiculous fear mongering. The country is 85%+ Catholic and safer than 90% of America cities. Finally as to jumping back in I suspect the guides who all have a few thousand dives in there locale and know currents etc. could have easily retrieved it faster and safer. I've been to Australia, PNG and many Pacific locals but return regularly to the Philippines for great diving at a great valued price.
By David Haasin OH, US at Oct 10, 2015 11:26 EST  
Apologies for the first post and typo mis-spellings. But I don't agree at all with this review nor the October Undercurrent comments on Atlantis resorts. I also have found number of dives is meaningless. Good resorts all do a warm up dive especially after guests have done long travel, likely are tired etc.and this is a good practice IMHO. It also allows the guides to observe the experience level of each diver. Just one guy's 2 cents.....
By report author: Rose Mueller in TX, US at Oct 10, 2015 13:58 EST  
I'm surprised you'd resort to name calling. I am entitled to give an honest critique of my experience. I asked 12 local people about whether the structure was a mosque and was told it was. I made the assumption they knew what they were talking about. Obviously, I was wrong. As for the dive light. The dive master found the light; we aided in the search. The dive master was reprimanded along with us upon our return for having taken the time to find it. There is a schedule after all. Even if we do not agree, we do not break the rules of a given resort. As for "fear mongering" there were 4 people kidnapped from a dive resort in the southern islands. I have never been to a hotel in the US where the undercarriage of a vehicle was checked for bombs. It was in Manila at our hotel. I did give the resort a 5 star for inexperienced divers.
By David Haasin OH, US at Oct 10, 2015 14:24 EST  
Rose, no intent to debate your comments if you found the manager a bit restrictive.I and the recent 86 reviews have found Atlantis a well run resort is all. Plenty of marine life to see also but no, it isn't a Manta / shark haven. The security concerns you saw in Manila are present in lots of places these days is all. The dive schedule you mention is the norm but I've never see any guest reprimanded as usually it's their boat / guide for the stay. But if you want to do 5 dives for approximately 60 minutes including safety stop and get safe surface intervals they have a pretty efficient system is all I meant. For high western standards in service, food and efficiency plus the wonderful Philippine people I just thought your review made it sound very bad. Too each his own....
By David Haasin OH, US at Oct 10, 2015 14:27 EST  
PS - My first comment didn't mean to be typed Loser. It was user but somehow got posted. Which is why I re-posted. If that's what you're referring to name calling I apologize for and as you say each Undercurrent subscriber is entitled to share they own experiences and opinion.
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 455 dive reviews of Philippines and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

 
Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Reef & Rainforest, Let our experience be your guide -- Reef and Rainforest
Reef & Rainforest
is an agency for travelers that scuba dive. We specialize in planning scuba diving adventures to the Philippines.
Island Dreams Travel
Island Dreams Travel
Island Dreams specializes in dive travel to the Philippines. We've dived there ourselves, and stand ready to customize your Philippines scuba diving adventure.

Want to assemble your own collection of Philippines reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!


Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |

Copyright © 1996-2020 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page computed and displayed in 7.64 seconds