Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
X
 

Dive Review of FeBrina in
Papua New Guinea/Kimbe Bay, Witu, Fathers Reef

FeBrina: "Widespread Dead and Dying Reef", Oct, 2018,

by David Marchese, PA, US (Contributor Contributor 13 reports with 21 Helpful votes). Report 10598 has 9 Helpful votes.

No photos available at this time

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations For Subscribers Only Food 4 stars
Service and Attitude For Subscribers Only Environmental Sensitivity For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation For Subscribers Only Shore Diving For Subscribers Only
Snorkeling N/A
Value for $$ For Subscribers Only
Beginners 3 stars
Advanced For Subscribers Only
Comments In general, the reefs were devastated and there were very few fish (big schools of barracuda being the exception). It was shocking to see dead reef after dead reef after reading rave reviews in Undercurrent from just a few months ago. The crew said that most of the die-off occurred in the last couple of months. Most reefs were 50% - 75% dead (some were 90% dead - one was "only" 25% dead). What was alive was all one color - brown (mostly stag horn ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Websites FeBrina   

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience Over 1000 dives
Where else diving Caymans, Turks & Caicos, Bay Islands, Bahamas, Fiji, Saba, Maldives, California, Revillagigedo, Cozumel, Midway, Kona, Galapagos, Panama, Palau, Tahiti, Cocos, Malpelo, Tonga, PNG, Komodo, Sulawesi, Holbox, Solomon Islands, Belize, Komodo, Raja Ampat, Wakitobi, Alor, Marquesas, GBR
Closest Airport Hoskins Getting There Via Port Moresby

Dive Conditions

Weather sunny, cloudy Seas calm
Water Temp 85-86°F / 29-30°C Wetsuit Thickness 3
Water Visibility 40-60 Ft/ 12-18 M

Dive Policy

Dive own profile yes
Enforced diving restrictions 60 minutes/dive
Liveaboard? yes Nitrox Available? yes

What I Saw

Sharks 1 or 2 Mantas None
Dolphins None Whale Sharks None
Turtles 1 or 2 Whales None
Corals 2 stars Tropical Fish For Subscribers Only
Small Critters For Subscribers Only Large Fish For Subscribers Only
Large Pelagics For Subscribers Only

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter For Subscribers Only Boat Facilities 4 stars
Overall rating for UWP's For Subscribers Only Shore Facilities For Subscribers Only
UW Photo Comments The boat is set up very well for photographers; however, on many dives, there was nothing to shoot and there was a lot o ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful to you?
Report currently has 9 Helpful votes

Subscriber's Comments

By Karl W Shermanin TX, US at Nov 04, 2018 16:55 EST  
Thanks for the honest report, I'd much rather hear/read truthful facts than plan trips based on travel agent/dive resort propaganda.
By Ellen Marie Smithin MN, US at Jan 16, 2019 18:49 EST  
I'm saddened to learn that the reefs are not in good condition. :(
By Ellen Marie Smithin MN, US at Jan 16, 2019 18:49 EST  
I'm saddened to learn that the reefs are not in good condition. :(
By Trevor Chomikin BC, CA at Jan 19, 2019 21:22 EST  
Wow, this is very surprising as there is so much positive hype about Kimbe Bay, Witu, and Fathers reef diving. I was thinking of a trip October 2019, but will have to reevaluate. I did Raja Ampat/ Misool in 2013, and was thinking this would be as good or better. Doesn't seem so. What month was your trip?
By Joe Lorinczin Mittagong , AU at Apr 26, 2019 21:34 EST  
Iím very sorry to report that we have had the exact same experience last year (2018) on two separate trips to the Taveuni area in the Fiji Islands where the coral was devastated at almost every dive site and the lack of fishlife was beyond comprehension. I first dived this area some 36 years or so ago ... the corals were magnificent, the water teeming with every possible form of sea life. The change over these years is extremely concerning and extremely depressing. I agree with David Marchese, it is hard to write this but the facts are the facts.
By report author: David Marchese in PA, US at Apr 29, 2019 09:32 EST  
I keep looking at UC and elsewhere to see if there are any more current reviews of the Kimbe Bay area of PNG, but I have not seen one. There is an UC review from January 2019 that says Fiji has the most pristine reefs the reviewer has seen in 40 years of diving, yet Joe Lorinczin had a very different experience, so the conditions seem to vary dramatically. Perhaps there are pockets of healthy reefs in Kimbe Bay and the Febrina has to find them and change her itinerary...but their "classic" itinerary is a rubble heap now...
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 148 dive reviews of Papua New Guinea and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

 
Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Best of PNG
Best of PNG
The PNG diving and land tour specialists. No-one knows PNG above and below better. Resorts, liveaboards, festivals, villages, flight deals.
Dive Discovery PNG
Dive Discovery Papua New Guinea
Diving this stunning diverse country leaves you breathless and wanting more. Divers have returned time and time again, rewarding happy photographers.

Want to assemble your own collection of Papua New Guinea reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!


Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |

Copyright © 1996-2021 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page computed and displayed in 4.05 seconds