Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
 

Dive Review of Reef Divers/Cobalt Coast in
Cayman Islands/Grand Cayman

Reef Divers/Cobalt Coast: "Cobalt Coast. The water was warm.", Oct, 2017,

by Steven Y Davidson, FL, US (Sr. Reviewer Sr. Reviewer 9 reports with 2 Helpful votes). Report 9881 has 1 Helpful vote.

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience Over 1000 dives
Where else diving Bahamas, Belize, Bonaire, Curacao, Cocos Island, Tahiti, Fiji, Cozumel, Cayman, Utila, Roatan, etc.
Closest Airport Grand Cayman Getting There

Dive Conditions

Weather windy Seas choppy, currents
Water Temp 82 to 84 Fahrenheit Wetsuit Thickness
Water Visibility 50 to 70 Feet

Dive Policy

Dive own profile yes
Enforced diving restrictions All dives limited to 100 feet. First dive was 60 minutes, the second was 50. They didn't get bent out of shape if you were a little longer.
Liveaboard? no Nitrox Available? yes

What I Saw

Sharks None Mantas 1 or 2
Dolphins None Whale Sharks None
Turtles > 2 Whales None
Corals 4 stars Tropical Fish For Subscribers Only
Small Critters For Subscribers Only Large Fish For Subscribers Only
Large Pelagics For Subscribers Only

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter For Subscribers Only Boat Facilities N/A
Overall rating for UWP's For Subscribers Only Shore Facilities For Subscribers Only
UW Photo Comments [None] ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations For Subscribers Only Food 1 stars
Service and Attitude For Subscribers Only Environmental Sensitivity For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation For Subscribers Only Shore Diving For Subscribers Only
Snorkeling N/A
Value for $$ For Subscribers Only
Beginners 4 stars
Advanced For Subscribers Only
Comments Our flight was uneventful and we got into Grand Cayman with our luggage. We were met at the curb by a Cobalt Coast greeter and were spirited off to the resort. Its a 30 minute bus ride to the resort and, aside from passing through to Little Cayman or catching the Aggressor, this was my first visit to Grand Cayman in 25 years. I won't go back. Its not like being on an island.

Cobalt Coast is owned and operated by the Tibbets, the same family that does such a great job at the Little Cayman Beach Resort. The dive operation here in Grand Cayman was well run, great Newton dive boats, valet diving, great reefs and exc ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful to you?
Report currently has 1 Helpful vote
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By Gregory Bruce in CA, US at Oct 18, 2017 12:19 EST  
Thanks for taking the time to post about your experience. Sounds pretty awful. I have been to GC multiple times and only have had great experiences, albeit at a different establishment and different dive operator.
By Steven Y Davidson in FL, US at Oct 18, 2017 12:51 EST  
I hope I didn't convey "awful". The diving was great as was the dive operator and my room was fine. If they had a real chef and an enclosed dining room it would be great. It is awful to have flies walking on your food though.
By Gregory Bruce in CA, US at Oct 18, 2017 13:05 EST  
I totally get it and you came across as fair and balanced in your review- Much appreciated. Food is such an important part of any vacation and can really make or break an experience, even when the diving is awesome. Not to mention, in this day and age, a reliable internet connection should be a given- even on vacation.
By Steven Y Davidson in FL, US at Oct 18, 2017 13:16 EST  
I hope I didn't convey "awful". The diving was great as was the dive operator and my room was fine. If they had a real chef and an enclosed dining room it would be great. It is awful to have flies walking on your food though.
By Craig A Wood in PA, US at Oct 19, 2017 12:25 EST  
Sad to hear about the food. My son and I went to Cobalt Coast twice, 2007 and 2008. This was when the owner, Arie Barendrecht, met you personally when you arrived and then checked on your satisfaction during your stay. The food during our visits was quite good, lunch and dinner were served at the table off a reasonably diverse menu. We ate outside, I don't remember any problem with insects. Sound like things have not gone in the right direction.
By Steven Y Davidson in FL, US at Oct 19, 2017 16:26 EST  
We dove LCBR a lot and the food there is awesome. Or was the last time I was there a few years ago. Our expectations were high since Cobalt Cove is now owned by the same family. And I was astounded that the bartender openly admitted to watering down the rum. The diving was good though.
By Craig A Wood in PA, US at Oct 19, 2017 16:43 EST  
Sounds like Cobalt Coast did not make a smooth transition from the old system (table service off a menu) to the usual buffet service of LCBR and CBBR. In addition, they don't have an indoor eating facility. If I were them, I would take this criticism to heart and make things better. If they want a buffet, it has to be good. They should give customers a comfortable place to eat.
By Steven Y Davidson in FL, US at Oct 19, 2017 18:36 EST  
We ordered off the menu for a late lunch when we arrived. WE ordered chicken tenders. If only we had known.....
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 812 dive reviews of Cayman Islands and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share
Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Indigo Divers Grand Cayman
INDIGO DIVERS Grand Cayman
Owner operated for the very best in personal service. 6 DIVERS MAX. Luxury dive boat. Outstanding diving with a touch of class..
LIVING THE DREAM DIVERS We specialize in delivering safe, friendly, and professional dive trips. We guarantee stunning sites and small groups on our spacious boat.
 

Want to assemble your own collection of Cayman Islands reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!



Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |


Copyright © 1996-2017 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page computed and displayed in 2.15 seconds