Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
X
 

Dive Review of Captain Don's Habitat in
Bonaire

Captain Don's Habitat: "Not Nitrox Analyzer", Jan, 2024,

by Eric Weiss, VA, US (Reviewer Reviewer 5 reports with 3 Helpful votes). Report 12868.

No photos available at this time

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations For Subscribers Only Food N/A
Service and Attitude For Subscribers Only Environmental Sensitivity For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation For Subscribers Only Shore Diving For Subscribers Only
Snorkeling N/A
Value for $$ For Subscribers Only
Beginners 1 stars
Advanced For Subscribers Only
Comments I'm posting this because a friend came back from a week at Capt. Don's . She reported that while Capt. Don had nitrox available and divers were using it, there was no nitrox analyzer. She dove with her computer set to oxygen and limited her depth. She suggests brin ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Websites Captain Don's Habitat   

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience 251-500 dives
Where else diving Raja Ampat, Costa Rica, Cozumel, Belize, Turks and Caicos, St. Vincent, West Palm Beach, Keys, San Diego, Puerto Rico
Closest Airport Getting There

Dive Conditions

Weather Seas
Water Temp -°F / -°C Wetsuit Thickness
Water Visibility - Ft/ - M

Dive Policy

Dive own profile ?
Enforced diving restrictions [Unspecified]
Liveaboard? no Nitrox Available? N/A

What I Saw

Sharks None Mantas None
Dolphins None Whale Sharks None
Turtles None Whales None
Corals N/A Tropical Fish For Subscribers Only
Small Critters For Subscribers Only Large Fish For Subscribers Only
Large Pelagics For Subscribers Only

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter For Subscribers Only Boat Facilities N/A
Overall rating for UWP's For Subscribers Only Shore Facilities For Subscribers Only
UW Photo Comments [None] ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful to you?

Subscriber's Comments

By Mary McCombie in CT, US at Jan 15, 2024 16:25 EST  
This is not accurate. There are analyzers on each boat and at the fill station. It's surprising that this diver never saw that.
By report author: Eric Weiss in VA, US at Jan 16, 2024 23:33 EST  
My friend asked about analyzing her tank and people just shrugged their shoulders as if to say "why bother?" No one offered an analyzer.
By report author: Eric Weiss in VA, US at Jan 16, 2024 23:34 EST  
I hope you're correct and my friend just had a strange week there.
By report author: Eric Weiss in VA, US at Jan 16, 2024 23:34 EST  
I hope you're correct and my friend just had a strange week there.
By report author: Eric Weiss in VA, US at Jan 16, 2024 23:34 EST  
I hope you're correct and my friend just had a strange week there.
By report author: Eric Weiss in VA, US at Jan 16, 2024 23:34 EST  
I hope you're correct and my friend just had a strange week there.
By report author: Eric Weiss in VA, US at Jan 16, 2024 23:34 EST  
I hope you're correct and my friend just had a strange week there.
By report author: Eric Weiss in VA, US at Jan 16, 2024 23:34 EST  
I hope you're correct and my friend just had a strange week there.
By Mary McCombie in CT, US at Jan 17, 2024 07:40 EST  
It seems that your friend must have had an anomalous experience. Analyzers hang from the fill station near the dock, and are on every boat.
By Mary McCombie in CT, US at Jan 17, 2024 07:41 EST  
It seems that your friend must have had an anomalous experience. Analyzers hang from the fill station near the dock, and are on every boat.
By Larry S. Klumb in FL, US at Jan 17, 2024 12:36 EST  
You are correct, but each day we'd have to ask for the analyzer and they'd have to search for it...not what one would expect if everyone is diving Nitrox
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 580 dive reviews of Bonaire and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

 
Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Reef & Rainforest, Let our experience be your guide -- Reef and Rainforest
Reef & Rainforest, Dive & Adventure Travel
A full service dive travel agency that specializes in Bonaire. We know the best Caribbean and Pacific diving

Want to assemble your own collection of Bonaire reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!


Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |

Copyright © 1996-2024 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page computed and displayed in 15.98 seconds