Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes

Dive Review of Aggressor Fleet in
Galapagos Islands

June, 2013, an Instant Reader Report by Ellen Marie Smith, MN, US
Sr. Reviewer   (7 reports)
Report Number 7059
Subscribers: Submit Your Reader Report Here
Subscriber Content Preview
Active subscribers go here
Questions?
Subscribers can send this reviewer an email directly from here.
Subscribe Now
Reporter and Travel
Dive Experience
251-500 dives
Where else diving
Cozumel, Cayman Aggressor, Utila Aggressor, Bonaire, Hawaii, Catalina
Islands, Turneffe Islands
Closest Airport
Getting There

		

Dive Conditions

Weather
sunny, dry  
Seas
calm, currents  
Water Temp
60   to 74    Fahrenheit  
Wetsuit Thickness
7
Water Visibility
30   to 80    Feet  
 
Dive Policy
Dive own profile
yes  
 
Enforced diving restrictions  
Divemasters asked divers to stay with buddy at all times, remain in group
(surfacing with buddy at different times ok). Bottom time of 55 min. We had
some advanced and experienced divers in the group and the guidelines were
not strictly enforced for them. One diver was asked to sit out 2 dives at
Darwin Island due to "popping up" from below 30 feet. I thought
this was a wise move.  
Liveaboard?
yes 
Nitrox Available?
yes 
What I saw
Sharks
Lots 
Mantas
None 
Dolphins
Schools 
Whale Sharks
1 or 2 
Turtles
> 2 
Whales
None 
Ratings 1 (worst)- 5 (best):
Corals
  2 stars
Tropical Fish
For Subscribers Only  
Small Critters
  For Subscribers Only
Large Fish
For Subscribers Only  
Large Pelagics
  For Subscribers Only
 
 
Underwater Photography  1 (worst)- 5 (best):
Subject Matter
For Subscribers Only  
Boat Facilities
5 stars
Overall rating for UWP's  
For Subscribers Only  
Shore Facilities  
For Subscribers Only  
Comments
Almost every diver had a camera (all of them much bigger than mine!). This
made the camera area quite crowded, but not uncomfortable. The rinse tanks
are large and well laid o ...
Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Ratings and Overall Comments  1 (worst)- 5 (best):
Accommodations
For Subscribers Only
Food
4 stars
Service and Attitude
For Subscribers Only
Environmental Sensitivity  
For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation
For Subscribers Only  
Shore Diving  
For Subscribers Only  
Snorkeling
N/A  
 
 

Overall Rating

Value for $$
For Subscribers Only    
Beginners
1 stars   
Advanced
For Subscribers Only    
Comments  
The only complaint about the trip is that the flights to Baltra are hard to
connect to, making an overnight stay in either Quito (not recommended by
Aggressor) or Guayaquil necessary. On our return we arrived back in
Guayaquil at 10:30 am and waited to board the redeye to Miami at 11:30pm.
This made for a tiring day.
Now on ...
Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful?
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By Richard J. Troberman in WA, US at Jul 21, 2013 11:31 EST  
It was the Aggressor I that went on the rocks on June 13.
By Ellen Marie Smith in MN, US at Jul 21, 2013 12:01 EST  
Sorry-- I put the wrong one above. Yes, Aggressor 1 went on the rocks--- we
were on 2.
By Ellen Marie Smith in MN, US at Jul 21, 2013 12:01 EST  
Sorry-- I put the wrong one above. Yes, Aggressor 1 went on the rocks--- we
were on 2.
By Kate Bolinger in OR, US at Jul 23, 2013 08:38 EST  
If you ever find yourself on dry land in Puerto Ayora, (the main town 30
mins from Baltra) there are a number of really great nearby dives like the
one offered at the local dive shops as "day trips" that are
really quite amazing and fun. And reasonable. You don't have to do a
liveaboard to enjoy the diving in the Galapagos. Just go to Puerto Ayora
and get diving!  Their is so much to see underwater at so many sites don't
be put off by the high price of the liveaboards which often exceed $5000 a
trip when you can do day dives at many sites within an hour or two of the
main island for $130. And stay in town for under $50 a night. The local
fish dinner held every night at the fishing docks, and the barbeque street
are so much fun. San Cristobal and "Kicker Rock" are another fun
option. Stay at Casa Maybelle for under $40 a night. Just go have fun! All
the dives shops offer day deals, but I would bring my own regulator if I
went back.
By Kate Bolinger in OR, US at Jul 23, 2013 08:38 EST  
If you ever find yourself on dry land in Puerto Ayora, (the main town 30
mins from Baltra) there are a number of really great nearby dives like the
one offered at the local dive shops as "day trips" that are
really quite amazing and fun. And reasonable. You don't have to do a
liveaboard to enjoy the diving in the Galapagos. Just go to Puerto Ayora
and get diving!  Their is so much to see underwater at so many sites don't
be put off by the high price of the liveaboards which often exceed $5000 a
trip when you can do day dives at many sites within an hour or two of the
main island for $130. And stay in town for under $50 a night. The local
fish dinner held every night at the fishing docks, and the barbeque street
are so much fun. San Cristobal and "Kicker Rock" are another fun
option. Stay at Casa Maybelle for under $40 a night. Just go have fun! All
the dives shops offer day deals, but I would bring my own regulator if I
went back.
By Ellen Marie Smith in MN, US at Jul 23, 2013 09:14 EST  
I respectfully disagree with the above....the diving at Wolf and Darwin are
in a different class than the "land" based diving in the
Galapagos. The price is high either way (considering all the money it takes
to get there) and I would never go all that way and NOT go to Darwin.
By Randall S Preissig in TX, US at Aug 13, 2013 20:05 EST  
ABSOLUTELY right about Wolfe and especially Darwin!  Darwin is easily one
of the top 5 dive sites in the world--on everyone's list.
By Kate Bolinger in OR, US at Aug 14, 2013 17:32 EST  
Darwin truly is lovely to dive - I just think there are other choices for
folk who can't afford six to eight thousand for a liveaboard to visit way
north.  The rest of the islands have a lot to offer on shore and below.
Don't miss the fisherman coming in with their catch in Puerto Ayora, and
the delicious community fish fry that happens there every day about 4pm! 
We can't wait to go back and visit more islands.
By Randall S Preissig in TX, US at Aug 14, 2013 22:16 EST  
Kate(above), Thank you for the suggestions, but I think anyone enduring the
24+ hour trip each way and the $1500++ in airfare is going to want to see
what Galapagos is world famous for--and that's Wolfe and Darwin.  Of course
there's good diving in the south islands--marine iguanas, Mola mola, sea
lions, etc--but Wolfe and Darwin are unique and truly on a different level.
 If I return for my 4th liveaboard trip, I might take up some of your land
suggestions as well.  Again, thanks.
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 109 dive reviews of Galapagos Islands and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share

Other dive reports on Aggressor Fleet

All Galapagos Islands Dive Reviews and Reports
Diving Guide to Galapagos Islands
Diving Reviews for All Dive Destinations

Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Reef & Rainforest, Let our experience be your guide -- Reef and Rainforest
Reef & Rainforest Dive & Adventure Travel
specializes in everything Galapagos. Let us plan your trip so see schooling hammerheads in the birthplace of evolution.

Want to assemble your own collection of Galapagos Islands reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.


Want to get more articles like these and
other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email?
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get our free monthly Online Update, and a sample issue!


Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account |
| Travel Index | Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Forums | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues | Login | Join | Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |


Copyright © 1996-2017 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

fc