Author Topic: tip your crew people  (Read 4888 times)

Souldiver

• Subscriber?: no
  • Total Dves: over 1000
  • Underwater photographer?: no
tip your crew people
« on: July 19, 2010, 22:27:45 UTC »
  I have been working in the dive industry for twelve years.  I am a Padi Course Director and a lisenced captain working in Hawaii.  I have two kids and work 60+ hours a week to support my family.  We go above and beyond everyday to ensure the safety and fun of our divers and we work really hard.  For all you people that think working dive charters is a fun and easy job you are wrong.  I have seen so many people try to dive for a living and fail because they cannot handle the stress and get burnt out in six months. 
SO FOR GODS SAKES PEOPLE TIP YOUR DIVE CREW
If you have been on a dive trip, had a great time with great service and leave the crew with just a hand shake, you are an ass.  We do not like you and dont want you to come back.  I find it amazing that people will spend all day with their dive crew and not tip a dime then go out to dinner that night and tip the guy that fills their water glasses.

marob

• Subscriber?: yes
  • Total Dves: 500-1000
  • Underwater photographer?: no
Re: tip your crew people
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2010, 19:39:53 UTC »
I can see the point re the waiter - solution don't tip the waiter unless they provide service beyond expectation.

Whilst inaccurate, the common belief is that TIP = "to insure promptness"; it is not to supplement salary. Look to your employer to pay you and charge the correct amount upfront.

A gratuity should rightly be for exceptional or service beyond that normally expected, not for having services provided to a customer for which that customer has already paid the asking price.

Look to Scandinavian & Japanese cultures where tipping is generally regarded as demeaning, suggesting the recipient is socially inferior to the provider.

ldg7

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 23:44:45 UTC »