Author Topic: Dive Computers  (Read 6070 times)

killam

• Subscriber?: yes
  • Total Dves: 0-100
  • Underwater photographer?: no
Dive Computers
« on: July 09, 2008, 02:14:50 UTC »
I would like to hear from anyone using Cochran dive computers. I especially would like to hear your experiences with the Gemini model.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2008, 11:09:54 UTC by killam »

Jumpin Jack

• Total Dves: over 1000
  • Underwater photographer?: no
Re: Dive Computers
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 14:33:30 UTC »
My wife and I have been using the EMC20-H Tri-Mix Computer for about 2 years now.  I have grown to like it, BUT the user is unable to invoke the gas switching.  It is done under the time and depth parameters that the diver specifies.  That's fine if you don't have to change the dive plan, BUT sometimes that's necessary. 

Good support from the company. They are GREAT on the phone and Larry (@ Cochran) has helped me out on a number of occasions.  ::)
CRAZY Jumpin Jack Gregory
Master Scuba Repair Tech
NACD and NSS-CDS DPV Cave Diver
Marietta, GA
jjgregory@mindspring.com

gusdog

• Underwater photographer?: yes
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2008, 21:46:38 UTC »
I cannot speak about the Gemini but I have been using the Commander since 2000 more or less (don't remember when we got it).  I upgraded to a set of EM-16 a year ago.  So far so good.  The Commander had a bad habit of "going  belly up" on agressive repetitive dives in a day (4-5 dives).  By this i mean after quite a few dives over a liveaboard trip the unit would go into deco at 40 feet and keep adding onto the deco as you came up.  I have a feeling that problem has been corrected and I have not been doing that type of diving with the EM-16.    I love the display, nice and large, user changeble batteries. It seems a bit liberal but I have used the conservative feature to offset that. 

jeffhub

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2008, 04:01:26 UTC »