Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes

Dive Review of Atlantis Dive Resorts in
Philippines/Puerto Galera

September, 2015, an Instant Reader Report by Rose Mueller , TX, US
Contributor   (15 reports, with 1 Helpful vote)
"What was is no more"
Report Number 8374
Subscribers: Submit Your Reader Report Here
Subscriber Content Preview
Active subscribers go here
Subscribers can send this reviewer an email directly from here.
Subscribe Now
Reporter and Travel
Dive Experience
Over 1000 dives
Where else diving
Most places it's warm
Closest Airport
Getting There
Houston, Chicago, Hong Kong,

Dive Conditions

choppy, currents, no currents  
Water Temp
80   to 82    Fahrenheit  
Wetsuit Thickness
Water Visibility
5   to 35    Feet  
Dive Policy
Dive own profile
Enforced diving restrictions  
Depths, times and placements enforced for some, usually the least
Nitrox Available?
What I saw
Whale Sharks
1 or 2 
Ratings 1 (worst)- 5 (best):
  2 stars
Tropical Fish
For Subscribers Only  
Small Critters
  For Subscribers Only
Large Fish
For Subscribers Only  
Large Pelagics
  For Subscribers Only
Underwater Photography  1 (worst)- 5 (best):
Subject Matter
For Subscribers Only  
Boat Facilities
2 stars
Overall rating for UWP's  
For Subscribers Only  
Shore Facilities  
For Subscribers Only  
The resort has a very nice room for camera storage and care.  There is even
a compressor.   ...
Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Ratings and Overall Comments  1 (worst)- 5 (best):
For Subscribers Only
4 stars
Service and Attitude
For Subscribers Only
Environmental Sensitivity  
For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation
For Subscribers Only  
Shore Diving  
For Subscribers Only  
1 stars  

Overall Rating

Value for $$
For Subscribers Only    
5 stars   
For Subscribers Only    
This was our 4th visit to an Atlantis Resort; the 3rd to Puerto Galera. 
The manager, Steve, began his job 8 months ago and said that he's NEVER had
a complaint.  We had the dubious honor of being his first!  It began on a
sour note with a "check out" dive on the sa
Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful?
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By mariaoc at Sep 29, 2015 12:55 EST  
So sorry your experience was so bad, especially after the good service you
had at the same place before.  Us divers must start setting our bars much
higher and in accordance with the $$$ spent and the long times it takes to
get to Philippines/Indonesia/South Pacific etc.  The more we keep going to
receive bad service, the more motivated resorts and liveabords will be to
try hard to earn our business.
By vramel at Oct 09, 2015 01:17 EST  
Dear Rose, It seemed like you had a bad experience on your 4th trip to the
Philippines. We are very concerned to hear that the fish are looking
diseased, if you could give us some information on that we can look into
it. You are correct about the kidnapping but this happened in Mindanao and
I think most governments have warnings about visiting this area. I would
also like to clarify for you that there is no Mosque being built across
from Puerto Galera. Its is going to be a statue of the 'Mother of Mary' You
can find more on the subject here 

Lets hope that you will give the Philippines another chance on another day.
I'm sure that everything cannot go wrong for you again and you would enjoy
it like your first 3 trips.
By dhaas at Oct 10, 2015 11:13 EST  
While I can't know all factors on the loser's experience it isn't like mine
going there for multiple trips. Myself and dive buddies always get 60
minutes in slow groups and great resort service. FYI _ the Mosque comment
is ridiculous as 85%+ of the country is Catholic and safer that American
As to the jumping back in I suspect there might have ben currents etc as
the guides routinely have a few thousand dives in their backyard and would
likely have retrieved their light faster and safer.
By dhaas at Oct 10, 2015 11:19 EST  
While I can't know all that went on my experience at both Atlantis
locations was quite the opposite. 60 minute dives slowly led, plenty of
marine life and food and hotel service that is great.
As far as the Mosque and kidnapping comments that's ridiculous fear
mongering. The country is 85%+ Catholic and safer than 90% of America
Finally as to jumping back in I suspect the guides who all have a few
thousand dives in there locale and know currents etc. could have easily
retrieved it faster and safer.
I've been to Australia, PNG and many Pacific locals but return regularly to
the Philippines for great diving at a great valued price.
By dhaas at Oct 10, 2015 11:26 EST  
Apologies for the first post and typo mis-spellings. But I don't agree at
all with this review nor the October Undercurrent comments on Atlantis
I also have found number of dives is meaningless. Good resorts all do a
warm up dive especially after guests have done long travel, likely are
tired etc.and this is a good practice IMHO. It also allows the guides to
observe the experience level of each diver.
Just one guy's 2 cents.....
By naomisean at Oct 10, 2015 13:58 EST  
I'm surprised you'd resort to name calling.  I am entitled to give an
honest critique of my experience.  I asked 12 local people about whether
the structure was a mosque and was told it was.  I made the assumption they
knew what they were talking about.  Obviously, I was wrong.  As for the
dive light.  The dive master found the light; we aided in the search.  The
dive master was reprimanded along with us upon our return for having taken
the time to find it.  There is a schedule after all.  Even if we do not
agree, we do not break the rules of a given resort.  As for "fear
mongering" there were 4 people kidnapped from a dive resort in the
southern islands.  I have never been to a hotel in the US where the
undercarriage of a vehicle was checked for bombs.  It was in Manila at our
hotel.  I did give the resort a 5 star for inexperienced divers.
By dhaas at Oct 10, 2015 14:24 EST  
Rose, no intent to debate your comments if you found the manager a bit
restrictive.I and the recent 86 reviews have found Atlantis a well run
resort is all. Plenty of marine life to see also but no, it isn't a Manta /
shark haven. The security concerns you saw in Manila are present in lots of
places these days is all. The dive schedule you mention is the norm but
I've never see any guest reprimanded as usually it's their boat / guide for
the stay. But if you want to do 5 dives for approximately 60 minutes
including safety stop and get safe surface intervals they have a pretty
efficient system is all I meant. For high western standards in service,
food and efficiency plus the wonderful Philippine people I just thought
your review made it sound very bad. Too each his own....
By dhaas at Oct 10, 2015 14:27 EST  
PS - My first comment didn't mean to be typed Loser. It was user but
somehow got posted. Which is why I re-posted. If that's what you're
referring to name calling I apologize for and as you say each Undercurrent
subscriber is entitled to share they own experiences and opinion.
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 317 dive reviews of Philippines and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share

Other dive reports on Atlantis Dive Resorts

All Philippines Dive Reviews and Reports
Diving Guide to Philippines
Diving Reviews for All Dive Destinations

Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Island Dreams Travel
Island Dreams Travel
Island Dreams specializes in dive travel to the Philippines. We've dived there ourselves, and stand ready to customize your Philippines scuba diving adventure.
Reef & Rainforest, Let our experience be your guide -- Reef and Rainforest
Reef & Rainforest
is an agency for travelers that scuba dive. We specialize in planning scuba diving adventures to the Philippines.

Want to assemble your own collection of Philippines reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Want to get more articles like these and
other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email?
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get our free monthly Online Update, and a sample issue!

NEW! Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account |
| Travel Index | Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Forums | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues | Login | Join | Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |

Copyright © 1996-2016 Undercurrent (
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.