Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
 

Dive Review of Bubbles Below, in
Hawaii/Maui

Bubbles Below,: "Spend your money somewhere else", Dec, 2014,

by Eric Steckel, UT, US ( 2 reports). Report 8770.

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience 101-250 dives
Where else diving Belize, Dominica, Bonaire, Little Cayman, Roatan, Cozumel, Kauai
Closest Airport Getting There

Dive Conditions

Weather sunny Seas
Water Temp 72 to 75 Fahrenheit Wetsuit Thickness
Water Visibility 30 to 60 Feet

Dive Policy

Dive own profile no
Enforced diving restrictions Stay with the group
Liveaboard? no Nitrox Available? N/A

What I Saw

Sharks None Mantas None
Dolphins None Whale Sharks None
Turtles 1 or 2 Whales None
Corals 1 stars Tropical Fish For Subscribers Only
Small Critters For Subscribers Only Large Fish For Subscribers Only
Large Pelagics For Subscribers Only

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter For Subscribers Only Boat Facilities N/A
Overall rating for UWP's For Subscribers Only Shore Facilities For Subscribers Only
UW Photo Comments [None] ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations For Subscribers Only Food N/A
Service and Attitude For Subscribers Only Environmental Sensitivity For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation For Subscribers Only Shore Diving For Subscribers Only
Snorkeling N/A
Value for $$ For Subscribers Only
Beginners 1 stars
Advanced For Subscribers Only
Comments Unfortunately there was nothing good to report about the diving in Maui. I have never seen such a lack of marine life and color. I was absolutely disenchanted after only 20 minutes in the water and was so disappoin ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful to you?
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By Craig A Wood in PA, US at Dec 02, 2015 08:35 EST  
Out of interest, where was your one dive, I've had some very enjoyable dives off Maui, Lanai, and Molokini. I'd like to dive Molokai someday
By William Golley in BC, CA at Dec 02, 2015 12:04 EST  
This report is not helpful. I suspect you did not see because you did not look. Please, a report on how Bubbles Below conducted their operation would have been more appropriate.
By Craig A Wood in PA, US at Dec 02, 2015 12:13 EST  
I find Bubbles Below in Kuaui, not in Maui. Did you mean another operator, Tiny Bubbles? This was really not a helpful review. One bad dive, pan the island?
By Ms Lynda Durfee in VA, US at Dec 02, 2015 21:24 EST  
I've dived off Maui, Lanai, Molokini, Molokai, Kauai, Oahu and the Big Island (over 500 dives total since I was certified in Kauai in Nov 2007). Sure, Hawaii doesn't have the coral found elsewhere in the Pacific (Hawaii is too far north), but unique underwater topography from lava flows, collapsed lava tubes, etc. Bubbles Below is in Kauai (I dive with Fathom Five).
By Ms Lynda Durfee in VA, US at Dec 03, 2015 14:27 EST  
I agree with Craig; you must mean Tiny Bubbles on Maui, since you previously wrote a favorable review of Bubbles Below (Kauai) in 2011.
By Eric Steckel in UT, US at Dec 03, 2015 21:55 EST  
I was mistaken about the dive outfit. It was B&B. I wasn't upset with B&B (but maybe I should have been), they took us to a site that was almost completely devoid of any marine life. After that dive I made the assumption that diving in Maui had to be terrible everywhere if they thought that was good enough to drop us where they did.
By Henry Goichman in CA, US at Dec 08, 2015 20:04 EST  
Bubbles below is indeed on Kauai--While maui does not have a lot of coral it has sharks, reef fish,and very good viz at Molonkini crater--The next time try Mike severns diving or another operator--To be sure the diving is not world class, but can be fun. Hank Goichman
By Henry Goichman in CA, US at Dec 08, 2015 20:04 EST  
Bubbles below is indeed on Kauai--While maui does not have a lot of coral it has sharks, reef fish,and very good viz at Molonkini crater--The next time try Mike severns diving or another operator--To be sure the diving is not world class, but can be fun. Hank Goichman
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 533 dive reviews of Hawaii and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share

Want to assemble your own collection of Hawaii reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!



Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |


Copyright © 1996-2017 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page displayed in 0.1 seconds