Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes
 

Dive Review of Turneffe Island Private Resort in
Belize/Turneffe Island Private Resort

Turneffe Island Private Resort, Dec, 2013,

by David L Maislen, CA, US ( 2 reports). Report 7466.

Reporter and Travel

Dive Experience 501-1000 dives
Where else diving Bonaire, Andros, Little Cayman, Cayman, Grenada, Florida, Hawaii, California, Fiji, Tahiti, Dominica, Papau New Guinea, Australia,
Closest Airport Getting There

Dive Conditions

Weather rainy Seas calm, choppy, surge, no currents
Water Temp 80 to 82 Fahrenheit Wetsuit Thickness
Water Visibility 40 to 70 Feet

Dive Policy

Dive own profile no
Enforced diving restrictions Follow the divemaster...it wasn't too strict, but in small groups we were expected to stay reasonably together.
Liveaboard? no Nitrox Available? yes

What I Saw

Sharks Lots Mantas None
Dolphins None Whale Sharks None
Turtles > 2 Whales None
Corals 2 stars Tropical Fish For Subscribers Only
Small Critters For Subscribers Only Large Fish For Subscribers Only
Large Pelagics For Subscribers Only

Underwater Photography 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Subject Matter For Subscribers Only Boat Facilities 4 stars
Overall rating for UWP's For Subscribers Only Shore Facilities For Subscribers Only
UW Photo Comments No fresh water container on the dive boats, but only about 5 to 15 minutes to shore where all surface intervals took place. ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here

Ratings and Overall Comments 1 (worst) - 5 (best):

Accommodations For Subscribers Only Food 4 stars
Service and Attitude For Subscribers Only Environmental Sensitivity For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation For Subscribers Only Shore Diving For Subscribers Only
Snorkeling 3 stars
Value for $$ For Subscribers Only
Beginners 4 stars
Advanced For Subscribers Only
Comments Some days you only did a one tank morning and one tank afternoon dive...other days you did two tanks in the morning and one in the afternoon. There is supposed to be one night dive on Thursday nights, but there were a thousand excuses why the conditions weren't right for our one night dive during the week I was at the resort. Thursday night was very calm with a full noon out...a perfect night for a night dive, but we were offered a dive at 3:00 PM in the afternoon.

About 70% of the coral is dead. There are lots of lionfish and the dive guide I was with, Daniel, would spear them and feed them to groupers or green moray eels. The eels have been fed so often that they are all out free swimming during the day. O ... Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful to you?
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By kim riederer in CA, US at Dec 29, 2013 10:29 EST  
Thank you for your honest opinion, family of 3, trip will be over 10,000.00$, I would cry & cry !!! Kim from California
By David L Maislen in CA, US at Dec 29, 2013 10:36 EST  
Hi Kim, If you haven't gone yet please feel free to call me and I can discuss the good, the bad, and the ugly with you...there's plenty of good so don't cry. David Maislen 805-474-4010
By kim riederer in CA, US at Dec 29, 2013 11:09 EST  
There is nothing like horrible feeling, after all that planning & hard earn money get wasted on bitter dive trip. We just came back from Bonaire Divi Flamingo 2 boat dive, & 2 shore dive everyday for seven days ( very hard but sooo worth it!! You know it,right? !! Do you think it is better than Bonaire as far as diving go? I read somewhere bad shape of corals even outer side & over rated Blue Hole.We are not fancy resort type but must have AC. What do you think? I sure will keep your phone # safe will ring you if we consider Belize. Thank you again David !! kim work to DIVE
By David L Maislen in CA, US at Dec 29, 2013 11:41 EST  
I've been to Bonaire 4 times, but not in the last 10 years or so. I went when you could safely leave a rental vehicle at the side of the road while you dived and your pants with wallet were still there when you got back. The first two times we stay at Captain Don's and then we found Holiday Homes between the airport and the salt flats. Then we would rent a Sazuki van and purchase unlimited diving from Captain Dons...pull in around 7 PM and take about 10 tanks for the next day's diving. Shore dive all day long then come back at 7:00 PM and drop off the empties and get full ones. It was wonderful. The coral at Belize is about 70% dead and there are fewer fish than I remember in Bonaire...Yellow tailed damselfish are not common in Belize as an example. However, I never saw a spotted eagle ray in Bonaire and saw 4 of them in Belize. The Blue Hole dive is a complete waste of time. Don't waste the time to get there.
By Laura A. Sonnenmark in VA, US at Jan 03, 2014 11:34 EST  
It's difficult to compare Bonaire and Belize, isn't it? I mean, rays, nurse sharks, green morays, and turtles are much more common in Belize(as I remember it, a dozen years ago)but Bonaire has lots of fishy sites and beautiful coral sites and quasi-mucky sites. And the freedom of shore diving, IMHO, is just wonderful. I also think Bonaire is a better bet for those of us who must travel during Christmas break. I've tried Roatan & Cayman during this time, and ended up stuck at the hotel as the boats couldn't get out. It's hard to find places in the Pacific that are good at this time of year (Palau and Lembeh were good for us.) 5 times we've been to Bonaire for Christmas week, and have always been able to dive every day. The petty thievery is a nuisance, but it's not that big a deal not to leave anything of value in your truck. Five times, and we've never had a problem, for what it's worth.
By Laura A. Sonnenmark in VA, US at Jan 03, 2014 11:37 EST  
I have been wanting to go back to Belize for some time now--it's been over a decade since we were there--and am saddened to read your report. Turneffe Lodge was always considered one of the best locations (we were at Caye Caulker.)
By Laura A. Sonnenmark in VA, US at Jan 03, 2014 11:37 EST  
I have been wanting to go back to Belize for some time now, and am saddened to read your report. Turneffe Lodge was always considered one of the best locations
By Laura A. Sonnenmark in VA, US at Jan 03, 2014 11:39 EST  
Sorry for the double posting! Not sure what happened there.
By David L Maislen in CA, US at Jan 03, 2014 11:53 EST  
The lodge was wonderful...the food very good, the people terrific and cottage more than adequate...but the diving just wasn't that great.
By Kurt Oheim in TX, US at Feb 20, 2014 18:14 EST  
I've enjoyed over 50 dives in Belize waters. Most off of Liveaboards (Lighthouse Atoll), many off of the barrier reef off St. George's Caye and Ambergris Caye. The reefs that I have observed are actually in very good shape, and I have discussed this with marine biologists who I have had the opportunity to share in some of these diving experiences. Perhaps you observed unhealthy eco conditions, but I believe that Belize is rigorously protecting its reefs and this has been paying off. It is regretful that you didn't have as good an experience as expected. Perhaps your next trip might be on a liveaboard as they spend most of their time at Lighthouse Atoll, and they cater wonderfully to divers. When I add up the investment in a trip, the liveaboard experience seems to be the best bang for the buck, at least for one who has diving as a priority.
By Laura A. Sonnenmark in VA, US at Feb 20, 2014 19:14 EST  
That's good advice, Kurt, and I think we can safely assume that anyone who subscribes to Undercurrent has diving as a priority!
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
Subscribers can comment here
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 336 dive reviews of Belize and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share
Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Reef & Rainforest, Let our experience be your guide -- Reef and Rainforest
Reef & Rainforest
is an agency for travelers that like to scuba dive. Want to see the Blue Hole, Caves, Mayan ruins and rainforests? Let us plan your adventure to Belize

Want to assemble your own collection of Belize reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.

Undercurrent Home


Get more dive info like these and other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email.
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get a free
monthly email and
a sample issue!



Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account | Login | Join |
| Travel Index | Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues |
| Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |


Copyright © 1996-2017 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.

Page displayed in 0.26 seconds