Main Menu
Join Undercurrent on Facebook

The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975 | |
For Divers since 1975
The Private, Exclusive Guide for Serious Divers Since 1975
Join Undercurrent on Facebook
"Best of the Web: scuba tips no other
source dares to publish" -- Forbes

Dive Review of Turneffe Island Private Resort in
Belize/Turneffe Island Private Resort

December, 2013, an Instant Reader Report by David L Maislen, CA, US (2 reports)
Report Number 7466
Subscribers: Submit Your Reader Report Here
 
Subscriber Content Preview
Active subscribers go here
Questions?
Subscribers can send this reviewer an email directly from here.
Subscribe Now
Reporter and Travel
Dive Experience
501-1000 dives
Where else diving
Bonaire, Andros, Little Cayman, Cayman, Grenada, Florida, Hawaii,
California, Fiji, Tahiti, Dominica, Papau New Guinea, Australia,  
Closest Airport
Getting There

		

Dive Conditions

Weather
rainy  
Seas
calm, choppy, surge, no currents  
Water Temp
80   to 82    Fahrenheit  
Wetsuit Thickness
Water Visibility
40   to 70    Feet  
 
Dive Policy
Dive own profile
no  
 
Enforced diving restrictions  
Follow the divemaster...it wasn't too strict, but in small groups we were
expected to stay reasonably together.  
Liveaboard?
no 
Nitrox Available?
yes 
What I saw
Sharks
Lots 
Mantas
None 
Dolphins
None 
Whale Sharks
None 
Turtles
> 2 
Whales
None 
Ratings 1 (worst)- 5 (best):
Corals
  2 stars
Tropical Fish
For Subscribers Only  
Small Critters
  For Subscribers Only
Large Fish
For Subscribers Only  
Large Pelagics
  For Subscribers Only
 
 
Underwater Photography  1 (worst)- 5 (best):
Subject Matter
For Subscribers Only  
Boat Facilities
4 stars
Overall rating for UWP's  
For Subscribers Only  
Shore Facilities  
For Subscribers Only  
Comments
No fresh water container on the dive boats, but only about 5 to 15 minutes
to shore where all surface intervals took place. ...
Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Ratings and Overall Comments  1 (worst)- 5 (best):
Accommodations
For Subscribers Only
Food
4 stars
Service and Attitude
For Subscribers Only
Environmental Sensitivity  
For Subscribers Only
Dive Operation
For Subscribers Only  
Shore Diving  
For Subscribers Only  
Snorkeling
3 stars  
 
 

Overall Rating

Value for $$
For Subscribers Only    
Beginners
4 stars   
Advanced
For Subscribers Only    
Comments  
Some days you only did a one tank morning and one tank afternoon
dive...other days you did two tanks in the morning and one in the
afternoon.  There is supposed to be one night dive on Thursday nights, but
there were a thousand excuses why the conditions weren't right for our one
night dive during the week I was at the resort.  Thursday night was very
calm with a full noon out...a perfect night for a night dive, but we were
offered a dive at 3:00 PM in the afternoon.

About 70% of the coral is dead.  There are lots of lionfish and the dive
guide I was with, Daniel, would spear them and feed them to groupers or
green moray eels.  The eels have been fed so often that they are all out
free swimming during the day.  O ...
Subscribe to get the full story. For Subscribers Only  Active subscribers continue reading here
Was this report helpful?
Bookmark and Share

Subscriber's Comments

By kimsjiffy at Dec 29, 2013 10:29 EST  
Thank you for your honest opinion, family of 3, trip will be over
10,000.00$, I would cry & cry !!!            Kim from California
By dmaislen at Dec 29, 2013 10:36 EST  
Hi Kim,
If you haven't gone yet please feel free to call me and I can discuss the
good, the bad, and the ugly with you...there's plenty of good so don't cry.
 

David Maislen
805-474-4010
By kimsjiffy at Dec 29, 2013 11:09 EST  
There is nothing like horrible feeling, after all that planning & hard
earn money get wasted on bitter dive trip. We just came back from Bonaire
Divi Flamingo 2 boat dive, & 2 shore dive everyday for seven days (
very hard but sooo worth it!! You know it,right? !! Do you think it is
better than Bonaire as far as diving go?
 I read somewhere bad shape of corals even outer side & over rated Blue
Hole.We are not fancy resort type but must have AC.
What do you think? I sure will keep your phone # safe  will ring you if we
consider Belize. Thank you again David !!     kim work to DIVE
By dmaislen at Dec 29, 2013 11:41 EST  
I've been to Bonaire 4 times, but not in the last 10 years or so.  I went
when you could safely leave a rental vehicle at the side of the road while
you dived and your pants with wallet were still there when you got back. 
The first two times we stay at Captain Don's and then we found Holiday
Homes between the airport and the salt flats.  Then we would rent a Sazuki
van and purchase unlimited diving from Captain Dons...pull in around 7 PM
and take about 10 tanks for the next day's diving.  Shore dive all day long
then come back at 7:00 PM and drop off the empties and get full ones.  It
was wonderful.

The coral at Belize is about 70% dead and there are fewer fish than I
remember in Bonaire...Yellow tailed damselfish are not common in Belize as
an example.  However, I never saw a spotted eagle ray in Bonaire and saw 4
of them in Belize.

The Blue Hole dive is a complete waste of time.  Don't waste the time to
get there.
By Dolores at Jan 03, 2014 11:34 EST  
It's difficult to compare Bonaire and Belize, isn't it? I mean, rays, nurse
sharks, green morays, and turtles are much more common in Belize(as I
remember it, a dozen years ago)but Bonaire has lots of fishy sites and
beautiful coral sites and quasi-mucky sites. And the freedom of shore
diving, IMHO, is just wonderful. I also think Bonaire is a better bet for
those of us who must travel during Christmas break. I've tried Roatan &
Cayman during this time, and ended up stuck at the hotel as the boats
couldn't get out. It's hard to find places in the Pacific that are good at
this time of year (Palau and Lembeh were good for us.) 5 times we've been
to Bonaire for Christmas week, and have always been able to dive every day.
The petty thievery is a nuisance, but it's not that big a deal not to leave
anything of value in your truck. Five times, and we've never had a problem,
for what it's worth.
By Dolores at Jan 03, 2014 11:37 EST  
I have been wanting to go back to Belize for some time now--it's been over
a decade since we were there--and am saddened to read your report. Turneffe
Lodge was always considered one of the best locations (we were at Caye
Caulker.)
By Dolores at Jan 03, 2014 11:37 EST  
I have been wanting to go back to Belize for some time now, and am saddened
to read your report. Turneffe Lodge was always considered one of the best
locations
By Dolores at Jan 03, 2014 11:39 EST  
Sorry for the double posting! Not sure what happened there.
By dmaislen at Jan 03, 2014 11:53 EST  
The lodge was wonderful...the food very good, the people terrific and
cottage more than adequate...but the diving just wasn't that great.
By lostcajun at Feb 20, 2014 18:14 EST  
I've enjoyed over 50 dives in Belize waters.  Most off of Liveaboards
(Lighthouse Atoll), many off of the barrier reef off St. George's Caye and
Ambergris Caye.  The reefs that I have observed are actually in very good
shape, and I have discussed this with marine biologists who I have had the
opportunity to share in some of these diving experiences.  Perhaps you
observed unhealthy eco conditions, but I believe that Belize is rigorously
protecting its reefs and this has been paying off.  It is regretful that
you didn't have as good an experience as expected.  Perhaps your next trip
might be on a liveaboard as they spend most of their time at Lighthouse
Atoll, and they cater wonderfully to divers.  When I add up the investment
in a trip, the liveaboard experience seems to be the best bang for the
buck, at least for one who has diving as a priority.
By Dolores at Feb 20, 2014 19:14 EST  
That's good advice, Kurt, and I think we can safely assume that anyone who
subscribes to Undercurrent has diving as a priority!
Leave a comment (Subscribers only -- 200 words max)
 

Subscribe Now
Subscribers can post comments, ask the reviewer questions, as well as getting immediate and complete access to ALL 317 dive reviews of Belize and all other dive destinations. Complete access to all issues and Chapbooks is also included.

Bookmark and Share

All Belize Dive Reviews and Reports
Diving Guide to Belize
Diving Reviews for All Dive Destinations

Featured Links from Our Sponsors
Interested in becoming a sponsor?
Reef & Rainforest, Let our experience be your guide -- Reef and Rainforest
Reef & Rainforest
is an agency for travelers that like to scuba dive. Want to see the Blue Hole, Caves, Mayan ruins and rainforests? Let us plan your adventure to Belize

Want to assemble your own collection of Belize reports in one place?
Use the Mini Chapbook Facility to create your personalized collection.

Note: The information here was reported by the author above, but has NOT been reviewed nor edited by Undercurrent prior to posting on our website. Please report any major problems by writing to us and referencing the report number above.


Want to get more articles like these and
other important scuba updates sent monthly to your email?
And a FREE Recent Issue of Undercurrent

Free Undercurrent Issue
Get our free monthly Online Update, and a sample issue!


NEW! Find in  

| Home | Online Members Area | My Account |
| Travel Index | Dive Gear Index | Health/Safety Index | Environment & Misc. Index | Seasonal Planner | Forums | Blogs | Free Articles | Book Picks | News |
| Dive Resort & Liveaboard Reviews | Featured Reports | Recent Issues | Back Issues | Login | Join | Special Offers | RSS | FAQ | About Us | Contact Us | Links |


Copyright © 1996-2016 Undercurrent (www.undercurrent.org)
3020 Bridgeway, Ste 102, Sausalito, Ca 94965
All rights reserved.